Probably will be my biggest find ever!

sarahj234

Greenie
Oct 6, 2010
Nevada
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I'm a newb.. been reading lots of articles and books and practicing in the backyard. The house was built in the 60's, so I figure there's enough junk and pennies to practice on. One of the tips I have read is to look for unusual plants and look around them. We have two old lilac buses about eight feet apart in the backyard along the fence, so I figure I'll go give it a try around them. I have the detector set to discriminate out iron, but that's it. So I wave the detector and it goes BONKERS! Signals all over the board all saying surface. So I scrape a little dirt and nothing, wave the detector again, and BONKERS! I'm thinking interference from something (kinda near power lines), but the detector seems normal a few feet down the fence, so I dig down over the Bonkers spot, and six inches down I find a metal grill (fiance says it is expanded metal). After a half hour of digging, we have a 4' x 4' piece of expanded metal! I keep getting weird signals in the hole, what I would expect to be a nail 4-5 inches down, I dig and nada. Then the same signal a foot away, and nada! Would leftover rust in the hole give me false signals?

Attachments

• P1013810.JPG
    P1013810.JPG
    170.1 KB · Views: 922
  • P1013812.JPG
    P1013812.JPG
    141.6 KB · Views: 948
Upvote 0

TheRockDoc

May 28, 2011
I think it is picking up on remnants of the metals in the ground, I was out just today, which im a newbie too, and it seems like more often than not, after I rescue my target, I fill my hole and swing over it again just to be sure, it gives a blip or two but then nothing.... I know that when a metal has been in the ground for a while, it creates a halo effect, and so I think it has something to do with that.

good luck hunting, I found my 3rd ever silver today, a silver quarter1962. That makes for 2 silver quarters, and a silver dime. I am loving it.

thrillathahunt