ca 1790-1810 Coin Silver Tea Spoon, Draped Bust LC, etc

Don in SJ

Silver Member
May 20, 2005
Detector(s) used
MINELAB SE Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yesterday I hit a site that my son and I hit last back around 1999 or so, but with our older detectors, so I was itchy to get there with 12 more years of experience and a better detector to work with. The site is very tiny and on our previous hunt I only remember getting a few buttons, but do remember an area of iron hits.
Site 257.jpg
So, it did not take long to find the hot area, and right away I got a tombac style cuff button and a few minutes later a very tiny button with the early 1800 back mark design. After about half hour of brush beating I only had the two buttons, but then I got a nice little hit and a small piece of at first I thought harmonica part but way, way too small, probably a tab of some sort, which upon cleaning showed it has a nice design on it, but still have no idea what the relic was part of. UPDATE: Pete (Timekiller) got an positive ID on it, it is the female part of a clog clasp)
Unk Tab.JPG
I wandered out towards the drivable dirt road where my truck was parked and got a BAYER bottle, which after some googling determined it was 1930s era and probably lost by loggers in the area back then, not related to the homestead about 20 yards away.
THEBAYER COMPANYINC.jpg
Since I did not plan on hunting more than two hours I decided to go back to where I first got the buttons which was the debris area for the homestead, the ground was loaded with old clam/oyster shell pieces. I finally got a pretty good high reading, and I was fairly certain it was not a large copper. I was correct, it was a teaspoon sized silver spoon, not bent, buckled or distorted. :icon_thumright:
ShoemakerTeaspoon.jpg