VOL1266-X

Gold Member
Jan 10, 2007
Northern Middle Tennessee
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1266-X, F75 X 2
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
CW Brass Oil Can For U.S. Rifle-Added pic From Book FYI...

The weeds and foliage prevents us from hunting many of our CW sites in Tennessee this time of year until hay is cut. However, I traded for another Fisher F75 as a backup for my F75 I have been using since 2009 and I was dying to try it out in a CW camp. I took a chance and traveled to the U.S. Infantry camp that the Tenn. Trio and Tenn. Digger hunted in Feb. and early March that has produced over 400 relics to date. Unfortunately, the area was completely covered in weeds with few places you could even get a coil on the ground including the woods.
I did find several shotgun brass pieces, melted lead, a brass poncho eyelet, and brass oil can pictured in Phillip’s relic book on page 180 despite the tall weeds. I was pleased with the performance of the new unit. I have dug those oil cans before but only recover the top. A local relic expert told me that the bottom was soldered on and then easily separated and lost especially if the can body was bent.
The first pic is my box of relics from that site representing 15 hunting trips between Feb. 6 and last Monday averaging 3-4 hours each. This was not a virgin site. North South Trader’s Civil War Magazine (due to arrive to subscribers next week) features my article on the background of that site and relics from our hunts there. HH, Quindy.

My CW relic to date in 2012=293
NOTE:
In case you find one, here's what Stanley Phillip's book "Excavated Artifacts from Battlefields and Campsites of the Civil War 1861-1865" says about them and a pic of a complete one.

Attachments

• U.S. Rifle BrassCW  Oil Can.jpg
    U.S. Rifle BrassCW Oil Can.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 123
  • Ind.-Ohio U.S.  Infantry Camp 2012.jpg
    Ind.-Ohio U.S. Infantry Camp 2012.jpg
    120.5 KB · Views: 159
  • img001.jpg
    img001.jpg
    464.2 KB · Views: 124