Found my first wheat cent today.

Truk58

Nov 9, 2013
Butler, PA
Detector(s) used
AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to hobby and only been hunting over the past week. Last Saturday I spent a long time at a modern school and found lots of trash and some newer coins, I have also been searching my yard when I get home from work, but only have about a half hour before it is too dark to see. I have a Fisher F2 that came with and 8" coil and 4" coil... was using the 8" coil up until yesterday when I started using the smaller coil... it seems to work better at separating signals so I can pinpoint the good targets to dig. Tonight, after about a half hour it was almost dark out, and then I dug two wheat pennies out of holes about a foot apart, one was a 1944 and the other is a 194?. I know they are nothing special, but I was really excited to find them.... if there are wheat cents, there is going to be a silver dime or something else good... it's a really fun hobby so far, and I can only see it getting better from here. I should have started years ago.

Upvote 8

wheatfinder13

Silver Member
Nov 23, 2012
New Orleans
Detector(s) used
Teknetics alpha 2000 ,garret pro pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
There ya go, even the best hunters found a first wheat, you could be that next best hunter!

lab rat

May 21, 2003
Sunny Southern CA Coast
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Wheaties will be fun until you turn up silver, or Indian Head pennies, or a gold ring. Then you'll be looking for Barbers and Morgans, then diamonds, and it keeps going. I recommend you start a journal-- record what you found, when and where you found it. Years from now those first wheats will still bring a rush!

Msbeepbeep

Gold Member
Jun 24, 2012
MA
Detector(s) used
M-6, pro pointer, pistol probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting