First time out - Silver!

SaintSea

Feb 13, 2005
Central Florida
Hi, everyone!
I'm a newbie - this is my first post.
I'm in my late 40's and have ALWAYS dreamed of treasure hunting. I got my degree in Anthropology just 8 years ago due to my life-long interest (obsession?) with archaeology.
Now that I live in central Florida, I'm pretty sure that beach hunting 8) is going to be my hobby of choice (though there are some pretty wonderful old sites to be dug inland, too).
On my first time out, within 30 minutes, I found a 1945 mercury dime! :o I was hunting at New Smyrna Beach - an area south of Daytona that has taken many, many hard hits during this past mammoth huricane season and beyond. I can see myself spending a lot of time in that area; it's about 1 and 1/2 hours from my home.
I'm brand new, but thanks to info from this website I've learned a lot about this sport. I'm getting much better already at setting my detector properly, how to ferret out the best signals and how to pinpoint my finds. Initially I was pulling up a WHOLE LOT of iron from the beach - but that's a thing of the past now. (Now that I've had at least 4 whole excursions under my belt!)
Yesterday, I went back to New Smyrna. It was overcast and breezy - felt more like a New England beach day than one in Florida. I was out about an hour - not finding anything other than a rather new penny... when a storm blew in! I was about 1/4 mile down from any available exit, so I just protected my electronics, and trudged up the sand toward my car. Any you know what? With just a single new-found penny in my pocket, sand in my shoes and my clothes drenched to the skin - I was happy because I had just spent my afternoon metal detecting! Jeez... I think I'm hooked.

Upvote 0

jeff of pa

Super Moderator
Staff member
Dec 19, 2003
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting