First 1800's home site dig....oldest coin thus far...

deedoubleyou

Feb 26, 2017
Northern WV
Detector(s) used
AT Pro, . Simplex, White's 6000 di Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I've been doing some research and have narrowed down a list of potential old home sites and old roads that are not used anymore. I'm pretty new to all of this, so this was my first morning gong out to a spot that I had a good feeling had some old home sites based on maps and my memory from fishing the streams in the area over the years. Sure enough, I walked about 1/4 mile and found and old foundation. Scanning around there was definitely a lot of iron, but in the short time I could detect before a downpour hit, I found my oldest coin and my first pre 1900's. Super pumped! I cant wait to make it back there Wed morning to look for more without heavy rain and storms.

20170227_151258.jpg

20170227_151314.jpg

I cleaned it up with water and rubbed it a little with my thumb, but didn't try to get everything off. Looks to be in great shape. Should I clean it further than this or let it go?

Upvote 14

Relicific

Silver Member
Feb 2, 2017
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
X terra 705
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
An IH is a good sign

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
Nice looking IHC. Congrats. Don't clean it any further, looks awesomely jade green.

Best of luck to you sir!

Oct 5, 2014
Massachusetts
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett: AT Pro, AT Gold & Infinium; Minelab: Explorer SE, II; Simplex; Tesoro: Tejon & Outlaw; White's: V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Congratualtions on the beautiful IH! :occasion14:

Driftwoood

Mar 31, 2016
Schoharie County, NY
Detector(s) used
Ace 250, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting