Chunk of silver!

Shane508

Sep 19, 2017
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350, Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I just had an hour to spare before work, so I went back to the old farm that I visited a few days ago. Found this about a foot in the ground.

wk5Tc1I_d.jpg

I have a lot more land here to search, so I will go back this weekend.

Zf3G9VX_d.jpg

Upvote 10

Tommybuckets

Bronze Member
Mar 2, 2015
Bodymore, Metalland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal, Safari, Garrett infinium, Whites prizm 4
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So you did an acid test? How did it react? Dark or red? I've thrown out better looking junk lol

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
are you ABSOLUTELY sure that's silver? I've been digging for 35 years and that doesnt LOOK like silver. Guestimate based on the pic is that it's aluminum (with possibility of zinc or pot-metal).

Tip, just because it responds in the "silver" area of your detector doesn't mean anything.

OP
OP
S

Shane508

Sep 19, 2017
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I tried the ice test and magnetic test.

If you put silver on an ice cube, it instantly starts melting, which it did.

After examining it more (original post was within 5 minutes of finding it), it may not be silver, but I'm not sure what other type of metal melts ice almost instantly.

Tpmetal

Silver Member
Jan 4, 2017
Western ny
Detector(s) used
equinox 800, Whites mx sport, Garrot carrot, bounty hunter time ranger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I tried the ice test and magnetic test.

If you put silver on an ice cube, it instantly starts melting, which it did.

After examining it more (original post was within 5 minutes of finding it), it may not be silver, but I'm not sure what other type of metal melts ice almost instantly.