4 Silver coins and a few nice relics...UPDATED with IDs...

Bavaria Mike

Gold Member
Feb 7, 2005
Bavaria Germany
Detector(s) used
Minelab XT70, Fisher 1280, Garrett Ace 250 and MH5
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A few hours on the fields in Bavaria this weekend. I have been hunting this field for several years now and it always gives up some great finds including my gold coin. There was a farm/hotel here from early 1000 to the mid 1600s, strange I have not found much dating the site as most finds date around the 1700-1800s after the farm was gone. Here’s a picture of the field, note the corn far left is tall, then to the right is shorter and gets taller after about 50’ again, this is where the house was.
22Sept07goldfield.jpg

Here’s the lead, 3 lead seals, 4 musket balls and a splattered 3 ring bullet. The right side middle musket ball has a stone in it as if lead was in shortage and the stone was used to make up for lead.
22Sept07lead.jpg

A large pendant commemorating the town’s 700th birthday where it stands today, was celebrated in 1950. I have about 5 of these now. The town will actually celebrate 1000 years in 2008 as it was moved about 700 meters in 1250. A unit crest from the 13th Infantry regiment. This is as close to an American Civil War find as I’ll ever get. The crest says “First At Vicksburg” referring to a battle at Vicksburg Mississippi around 1863. Top in small letters says “Forty Rounds” and under that is a US CW belt buckle. Modern but interesting. Right is a huge flat button.
22Sept07relics1.jpg

A nice little copper thimble, a small unusual button with an extra long shank, what I thought was a bent ring but looks more like a seal for a sausage link or something. A small pendant with two hearts and a flattened cane tip that was hand engraved.
22Sept07relics2.jpg