paleomaxx

Aug 14, 2016
Upstate, NY
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus XP
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm going to be counting the days until the snow starts to melt and I can get back to this spot. It's a cellar hole beside an old road on private property that I got permission to check out. I've been hunting the sites in those woods for a few months, but this one I only recently stumbled on because it isn't in any of the 1800's property maps. While hard to find, unmarked sites tend to be the most exciting spots to detect. This one is a well-preserved cellar that's on a small rise just above a stream. At first the hunt went very slow with almost no targets and I started to think someone had cleaned it out already, but after an hour I started pulling out button after button and mostly shallow targets. By the end of the hunt I had pulled out over a dozen buttons including two that I never expected:

DSC00955.JPG DSC00959.JPG

I believe these two are blowhole buttons, but one is absolutely huge; nearly an inch across!

DSC00957.JPG DSC00958.JPG

From my understanding these were worn from the 1600's to the 1750's. Since my area wasn't settled until after that it's likely that these were just worn many years after they were out of fashion. Based on the other buttons and relics I would guess that this site was occupied from the 1770's to early 1830's. I also managed to find a single late 1700's cufflink with a very unique design that I haven't seen before:

DSC00965.JPG

There were two Georgian shoe buckle fragments as well:

DSC00963.JPG

I'm hoping there's a whole shoe buckle around, but I did find a complete knee buckle that's entirely made of iron:

DSC00962.JPG