Pinpointer- necessary luxury?

TampaNative

Oct 12, 2010
I am VERY new to detecting, having just bought a White's Coinmaster Pro last week, and only have about 30 minutes of coil swinging under my belt so far. Although I am telling myself to limit my spending on this new hobby until I find out if it is for me or not, I am finding myself wondering about a pinpointer. I thought I'd ask the opinion of the group here.

Like I said, I really haven't gotten any real time in with my detector but I've already dug some holes that were either way bigger than they needed to be or completely unproductive. I know I have a lot to learn about my machine and all, but I'm wondering if a pinpointer might spare me some potentially hobby-killing disappointment and discouragement. The pinpoint function of the detector seems to be rather vague.

So,what is the opinion of the group? Are most people that are serious about the hobby using a pinpointer? I'll spend the money if it is going to make a difference in my enjoyment of the hobby, as I really want this to work out. Finally, do the pinpointers (specifically the Garrett ProPointer) come into play before you dig a plug or is their useful range limited to searching around an already dug hole?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer this newbie!

snazzypit

Aug 2, 2010
North Jersey
If you are digging in lawns, and parks, i would say definitely get one. I MDed without a pinpointer for a few months,a nd can tell you that sine i purchased mine, i have found targets so much faster and with much less digging. Especially with shallow targets. It also helps when you find multiple targets at once. The expense is well worth it, it will help you enjoy the hobby more

slowNsteady

Mar 26, 2010
Broken Arrow, OK
Detector(s) used
Whites Beach Hunter, Fisher 1220 1225 F2 F4, BH Land Star, Garrett Ace 250, Tesoro Vaquero