Legality of MDing parks and curb strips

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamiefind

Oct 4, 2015
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350, Garrett Pro Pointer AT, wireless ear receiver, Lesche digging tool & sod cutter, Lesche T-handle HD shovel, home-built 1/4" sifter
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Hi, all. I am curious as to how curb strip and park MDing is allowed in other states. The rationale I have read on these boards is that the city owns the property and therefore MDing is permitted. Some posters do not seem to even think city permission is required (finder's law maybe?). Logic demands permission from the city, and at least in my state of Mississippi, removing or excavating things from lands owned by political subdivisions of the state (cities) requires a permit or contract from the state Dept of Archives & History.

I'm a lawyer, a metal detectorist, an engineer, and a history buff, and I am wondering if other states genuinely have different laws, or if the curb strip / park hunters out there are just not concerned about the law (or think that enforcement is unlikely against amateurs so long as nothing truly significant is found, etc.).

I have summarized our state's antiquities law below, and I would love to see an intelligent discussion as to whether other states are different. I can't imagine there is that much variation. I am not a typical lawyer...don't really like them, and I am not interested in judging anyone for doing what they do. This post is intended to be good natured. Thoughts?