can I claim on my taxes a loss for being robbed
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By caretaker
  • 1 Post By smokeythecat
  • 1 Post By releventchair
  • 4 Post By xr7ator
  • 1 Post By gunsil
  • 1 Post By Mackaydon

Thread: can I claim on my taxes a loss for being robbed

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    go out and dig something

Jan 2008
    Maine
    2-XLT, AT Pro, CZ20, E-Trac, Excal II, GTI 1500, 250, BH 101, HH Diver
    294 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

can I claim on my taxes a loss for being robbed

Last year some people came into my house and did some work, about 10,000 bucks in gold and silver was removed, they went down in my cellar to turn off the water, and took all my gold and silver I have been saving for 10 years from metal detecting, I didn't notice it was gone for 6 months, because on of my best friends died, and it really shook me up, then I had to look thru my cellar for 2 months, been detecting and bottle hunting for 20 years, so I wanted to make sure I didn't put somewhere and accuse them wrongly, I should have called the Police right away, but hind sight is another thing, this is part of what was taken, thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	winter13a.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	59.8 KB 
ID:	1893487  
    Honest Samuel likes this.

Charter Member
    us
    Nov 2012
    Maryland
    XP Deus, Tesoro Cibola, Full sized shovel and a backhoe
    33219 times
    Banner Finds (8)
    Honorable Mentions (1)
    I think the first thing you have to do is file a police report.
    stewielouie likes this.

Charter Member
    us
    "WP"

May 2012
    28005 times
    With evidence of what you had , I'd start by asking my home insurance id I didn't know what was covered.
    Some companies want you to have a rider on expensive certain items.
    fistfulladirt likes this.

Aug 2016
    1996 times
    That stinks

Charter Member
    us
    Nov 2012