Possible site to detect...

LadyDigger

Bronze Member
Jun 7, 2006
Virginia Beach
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
My hubby and I were out and about last week, looking for places in what is left of the country side of Va Beach (can't believe how fast this place has grown since 1978...when I first arrived, a gift from the U.S. Navy :))...

Well, we stopped to buy some fresh strawberries....we did not feel like picking our own...so we got a basket already picked and they were SOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOODD!!!

Anyways, talking to the young lady, we asked how old the house was...and she said atleast 150 years old. I said WOW>>>LOOKS GREAT FOR AN OLD PLACE (and it did, they kept it up well)...well, I asked (I'm new at this....so not sure other to come right out and say)..."Would you have a problem if we asked if we could metal detect your property?" She said, "I don't think there would be a problem. My father in law owns this land. It's been in his family for years." So, of course, the genealogist I am, asked her...."How many years?" She prececed to tell me, that up the road (named after this family)...was the original house that her father in laws something other great grandfather built. He was granted land from the King of England and this land has remained in this family since then. This man was sent here to colonize this area. Now I have to go do more research on this family and look at land grants and deeds and titles and what have you. I may already have this family in my genealogical files (as my goal is to have the largest TOWN FAMILY TREE and try to connect everyone I possibly can).