Camel Tank Gold

Shadowed_Blue

Greenie
Jun 21, 2006
SoCal
I am sure most of you know the story so I will just give the quick version here (copied from therockerbox.com).

Somewhere in the Tank Mountains, north of Yuma, is said to be Camel Tank, a tank of natural water that had gold nuggets laying around the tank. It was found by John Gordon and Juan Perea, who took a load from the site, but could never relocate the tank again.

Well, we found the tank but try as I might we couldn't find any gold. That is not to say that there isn't any gold there because I am new to this treasure hunting stuff and pretty green with a metal detector. I have included a picture here that shows the principle feature that gives the tank it's name. There are some shadows on the nose of the camel head in the picture so it doesn't do it justice, but the nose has the classic camel appearance of a horizontal slit and a vertical cleft. The tank at the base of the hill is generally dry but has water for 2-3 weeks after a heavy rain.

There are some old mines in the area which probably were dug after the legendary story took place, so maybe somebody already found the gold that was there.

There was also a very unusual feature found near this spot. In the early morning when looking up at the rocky hillside we could see what appeared to be a large X spray painted in black on the rocky slope. I climbed up to have a look and when I got up there I couldn't find or see any trace of the X. My partner, who was still down below, could still see the X and guided me to the spot. All I could find was some cracks in the cap rock, maybe man made but I don't know for sure. By afternoon time the X was no longer visible from any angle. Maybe one of you mine marker experts will know what this could mean. I will try and get a picture the next time we are in there hunting quail.

Attachments

• Camel Tank.jpg
    Camel Tank.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 481

djui5

Bronze Member
May 22, 2006
Mesa, AZ
Detector(s) used