Asking permission to search

John5280

Tenderfoot
Jun 19, 2014
Denver CO.
Primary Interest:
Other
First off, I'm new to the fever of hunting for artifacts, but boy do I have it bad.
I have two questions that I am going to throw out and hopefully someone can help. I'm in Denver Colorado and everything I read and hear is that the best places to hunt for arrowheads is on the plains, on farms. Does anyone have a suggestion of what area to go? I don't want to drive all over and not have any clue. Second question, what is the best way to ask a land owner for permission to hunt on his or her land? I don't want to be rude.
Again, hope someone can help with those two questions.

Thanks

John

Pointman

Silver Member
Feb 18, 2013
Arkansas
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
I’ve used about all modern ones but right now: CTX 3030, White’s MXT Pro, XP Deus, Vaquero, White’s TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am definitely no expert, but I have some experience searching for Primitive American artifacts. We would use a topo map and find old creeks, and walk down them and check out the banks and sand bars. Especially look at older waterways where the water has cut into the rocks or bedrocks, essentially smaller rivers. We would also find old river beds. Be careful that you don't trespass, stay on the banks and in the water if possible. Also research old records and locate old springs and areas that artifacts have been found.

Mileaway

Aug 15, 2011
Sonora,Ca
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter - Prospector
First off, I'm new to the fever of hunting for artifacts, but boy do I have it bad.