AT Pro 2 coils or 1?

ladyliegh

Sep 17, 2012
SC
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
In a few days I will purchase a Garrett AT Pro, while I am new to detecting, I have been researching for a month. My question is;
I will be using this MD mostly on land, with some use on lake shore, what are the benefits of having both the 5x8 & 8.5x11 coil?
Is it simply the benefit of covering more ground with the larger coil?
I have seen a lot of disagreements about the covers, I may get them if included in the price.
The ground where I live is mostly hard clay, even around the lakes. (not sure it matters regarding the coil size?)
I really want the wireless, but not willing to spend that much cash yet.
Any ideas or comments appreciated.

markincypress

Apr 6, 2012
cypress texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Minelab CTX3030, Tesoro Tejon and Sand Shark, Fisher F75-ltd, Whites V3i
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Get both coils and never look back and wonder. I love the small DD coil on my AT Pro! While you are at it, get an extra lower shaft and mount your extra coil to it so when you want/need to change coils it's a snap.

FCCDFEd

Sep 29, 2007
Terra Bella, Ca.
Detector(s) used
DFX, IDXPro, MXT, Lobo St., At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi Ladyleigh,