More depth on the XLT???

ICE ADDICT

Aug 15, 2007
Cheektowaga New York
Detector(s) used
whites Spectrum XLT E-Series
OK folks, I know this may be considered somewhat cliche' but I'm just hoping someone might give me a quick fix to my inquiry.

I NEED MORE DEPTH!!! I have been using my XLT for two years now, and while the finds are good I can't seem to get it to pick up deep small objects. By deep, I mean over 6 inches. I have my AC sensitivity cranked as high as 75,and the Pre-amp gain as high as I can get away with, depending on the site,usually around 6 or 8.
ANY suggestions GREATLY appreciated.

mastereagle22

Silver Member
May 15, 2007
Southeast Missouri
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Explorer II, Xterra30, Whites Prizm IV
Yep one suggestion.

Buy a Minelab Explorer! :wink: ;D

Seriously I don't know anything about the XLT other than my buddy hunts with one and I find stuff all the time that his won't even beep on.

OP
OP
I

ICE ADDICT

Aug 15, 2007
Cheektowaga New York
Detector(s) used
I was affraid you were going to say that!!

HOWEVER, I do find LOTS of good coins, just nothing deeper than 6" or so.

mastereagle22

Silver Member
May 15, 2007
Southeast Missouri
Detector(s) used
He finds some really good stuff too. Actually until I really learned my Explorer he was smoking me.

There is NOTHING wrong with your machine.

A bigger coil will help, if they make one for the XLT. Other than that I cannot help. I know BB, the guy I hunt has adjusted his machine's pre-amp gain and other settings but still the only really deep things he gets is big iron.

I think Whites makes a fine machine but for me the Explorer is the way to go.

Good luck and HH.

mastereagle22

Silver Member
May 15, 2007
Southeast Missouri
Detector(s) used
While I agree with that I have YET to find a DEEP old piece of silver but that is because I am doing something wrong.

10 inches on a 1943 Silver Florin is the deepest Silver I have recovered to date, using the Explorer.

OP
OP
I

ICE ADDICT