monsterrack

Silver Member
Apr 15, 2013
Southwest Mississippi
Detector(s) used
Garrett, and Whites
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been hunting these fields along this creek for over 20 years and have found a lot of points from all time frames in the fields ,nothing in the creek. This last weekend I went and found one whole artifact that when added to the years of finding other items and what the location is like it all made sense to me. I have found lots of broken items in these fields and always thought it was due to use or farming tools, but I never found pottery. We have over 800 acres that has a large sandy creek that runs through the middle, but for some reason I never put 2&2 together. This is what I found last weekend. field finds.jpg a perform, crude hafted scraper, some turtle back scrapers, broken pencil drill, broken point and a unfinished point that is whole. field finds1.jpg

Now why do I say it not finished, first if you look at the right side of the point it is jagged, some will say it is broken, but I know enough about flintknapping to know that they were not done with this point. There is no wear sign on the edges and the dead give away is the tip. It still has some of the rine or outside core of the stone. You don't make a object to cut and have a dull point. field finds2.jpg To some this may be boring , but once I added all the info of over the years and finds under my microscope and items I didn't find I knew then I was dealing with a lithic tool making site that is very large and covers over 1 mile on both sides of the creek.