Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2008
upstate ny
Detector(s) used
se pro
Primary Interest:
Other
A "Large" Year

90% of these finds come from one 400 acre property along the hudson river in upstate new york. I use a white's dfx, a white's silver eagle and a minelab se.

I found 36 large coppers this year. 34 are pictured here. i'm no expert on identification, but i will try to cover some of the high points. the first is a william III 1690's halfpenny. there are two george I "dump issue" halfpennies from the late 17teens, a cull hibernia/rosa americana-type copper, many george II counterfeit halfpennies, and one machin's mills counterfeit halfpenny from newburgh, ny, i believe. My oldest US copper of the year is a 1798 draped bust. There are several draped busts here, one classic bust from 1813, several coronet coppers, two hard-times tokens from 1837, and two braided hairs. The last coin pictured was found at a colonial site, but has no distinguishing markings except milled edges...

img077_1-1.jpg

img078.jpg

Here are some of the nicer silver coins from the year. There are two one reals, and three half reals. The trade dollar was in the middle of a large field, and i wouldn't have found it except that i was walking home with the dfx on and trailing on the ground. I thought it was going to be a lost tractor part...
The bust half-dime sounded terrible on the dfx, but there weren't many signals and every signal seemed to be an old coin at this one particular site. I dug an 1865 2 cent piece that isn't pictured here (gave it to a hunting buddy) and an 1866 shield nickel (pictured later) in the same hole at this site, and both sounded bad.