Asking permission to prospect private property

JeffA

Jun 13, 2019
RI
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi, as a newbie I have a question for you more experienced folks. When you knock on someone's door to ask permission to do some panning on their property, how do you generally open the conversation? Today I did exactly that, and was successful, however it felt rather awkward. At first he was a bit reluctant to let me pan the creek running through his backyard, but as the conversation went on, he eventually said go ahead and pan all you'd like. Luckily my father (sort of) knows the guy, which was helpful. However, another part of the creek runs through someone else's land who I also intend to ask. Any tips or advice would be highly appreciated. Thanks in advance! Jeff

Upvote 0

Bonaro

Aug 9, 2004
Olympia WA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xterra 70, Minelab SD 2200d, 2.5", 3", 4"and several Keene 5" production dredges, Knelson Centrifuge, Gold screw automatic panner
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
You have to have a conversation. Until he gets to know you, at least a little bit, you are just a stranger asking to play in his backyard. Place yourself in his position and think about how you would react if a total stranger knocked on your door. The best way is to meet him and spend some time so he can evaluate if you are a nut or a good guy.

placertogo

Aug 25, 2010
Maine USA
I always offer to show the landowner how we prospect and offer him/her and family how to pan. Once they see you are for real, the ice is quickly broken.

G

ghostminer

I personally would not let any strangers prospect for gold on my private property. You are opening yourself up to all kinds of issues, especially if someone got injured. I would politely tell them no. If they persisted I would run them off or call the cops.

Toecutter

Bronze Member
Nov 30, 2018
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting