Casting Father/Son for Gold Mining History Channel Episode

Oct 3, 2016
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello All,

My name is Colin Sprague and I'm reaching out from Punch Drunk Pictures (Punch Drunk Pictures) in Los Angeles where I am a developing producer. We are a television production company behind shows such as Dead End Express on National Geographic and The Horn on Red Bull TV. I'm currently developing a new series for History Channel and am looking for fathers and their millennial sons to be featured in an episode.

In a nutshell, the project aims to celebrate the achievements of the Baby Boomer generation while evaluating how well equipped the new generation is to carry this legacy and skills through the 21st Century. We are searching across the country for "the real American working man" and his millennial son. The father who has worked hard to get to where he is and might think that the millennial generation does not understand the true value of the tough grind. Meanwhile the millennial may be tired of his dad constantly bragging about his work ethic and hearing the same old "back in my day" stories.

With this particular episode, we'd be focusing on gold mining and the skills it takes to get an operation up and running. We'd tell the story of the father staking his first claim and then challenge his son to go "walk a mile in his dad's shoes" by staking his own claim.

If this sounds like it would be a good fit for anyone, I'd love to talk with you more about this project! I know this is kind of random, initially I'd just be interested in having a conversation about your experiences mining and how it might fit with this project. I've attached a flyer that goes into more details about the series and what would be involved. If you are interested, please leave a response here and I will message you with my contact information. I hope all is well and that we have the opportunity to talk soon!

Best Wishes,

Colin Sprague
Developing Producer