Changing it up

VA relicman

Apr 13, 2020
VA
Detector(s) used
equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I purchased the 6" coil for my nox and its on the way. I've read mixed reviews but decided to give it a shot since I recently got permission to hunt a site where you cant take a step without hitting tons of iron signals. I've covered most of the ground with the 11" and i'm sure there are more good targets there than what i've found. Do you guys with the 6" coil change your detecting style when you hit these types of sites? I'm still fairly new to detecting.

Donut

Jan 25, 2010
Coloma, Michigan
Detector(s) used
Xterra 70 6" 7.5khz concentric 9" 7.5Khz concentric, 5x10 18.75Khz DD, 10.5 18.75Khz DD.
Remember the 6” has a small footprint and is actually smaller than the visual coil you look at and remember the signal tapers in like a wedge from the sides and a little less from front to back. So you can easily miss a target if your off even an inch between swings. Also in really trashy areas I swing slower and move forward slower and I lower my sensitivity sometimes 10 and below. Less trash them I’ll run it hotter as long as I don’t start getting too much chatter. Depth is the same BUT you have to be more precise over the target. I run my sweep speed at 2-3 and no higher.
Have fun with your new coil.
Doug

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
Depending on the detecting mode try the number 2 profile, like Park 2, Field 2. Good luck with the new coil!

OP
OP
VA relicman

VA relicman

Apr 13, 2020
VA
Detector(s) used
equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I’ve been seeing where people are running their sensitivity and recovery speed higher than with an 11” coil donut. Looks like you’re doing the opposite though. I’ll have to try it both ways at the site and see which one works best for me.

Donut

Jan 25, 2010
Coloma, Michigan
Detector(s) used