Civil War Camp

S

Sandy

Hi,
I got permission yesterday to search a civil war training camp area, it was there for 3 months and over 800 men trained. There is a wooded area, and also a disked 4 acre field. This area has never been searched. It is located up on a ridge. They also told me that there was a dump used by the camp and I think they know where it is located. I am a total newbie, just got my first detector Wednesday, so I will need all the clues and tips I can get. I can't hardly wait to get started. I purchased a white xlt detector. I've been reading the manual and practicing with it, but am total lost so far about the meter. I get a reading of coins with a positive number, then the bars or bar, which ever it may be, and a pretty loud tone, then, turn on the trigger, when both of the bars are even, i assume that the target is right under the coil, I dig and find nothing, what am I doing wrong? I need some information so I can get started on the camp site. The detector has some preset programs on it, one is relics, is this the preset mode that I need to use when searching the camp site? If any of you are near So. Illinois, contact me, and I would be happy to have you search this area with me. Hoping for some great advice and information. Thanks

Upvote 0

tennessee jed

Mar 27, 2003
dude, if you know this is a civil war site! be cool and do not let any one in on it!!!!!!. im not an a--! but you will find out that if you tell someone about a site,the next time you will see them is at that site!!! go digging at the site and you will learn your detector ! ! good luck D

OP
OP
S

Sandy

TennesseeJed

Hi,
Thanks for the advice, however, I am not a dude! lol, I am a female..so, guess that would make me a dudette..hehe

Sandy

Fred

Apr 3, 2003
Princeton,BC,Canada
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT