Cruel and Unusual Punishment...

CTRollHunter

Mar 25, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Found these in a teller's tray yesterday!!!!!!!!! I thought for sure she would say she was keeping them, but, instead I got them for $2!

20160222_182201.jpg

20160222_182212.jpg

My second and third SILVER dollars CRHing. I was grinning from ear to ear.

For about 10 seconds. Both are fakes. Look especially at the reeding on the right side of the Morgan. It's in straight lines!

I wasn't too upset, however. Earlier in the day I found eighteen 90% and forty 40% halves plus six silver dimes. Almost 13 ounces in one day.

Plus two fake silver dollars *sigh*.

The coin gods giveth and the coin gods taketh away...I am going to sacrifice another fatted bull for the coin gods tonight...

Upvote 0

mxh5891

Feb 27, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It just looks like PMD to me. But I have no experience spotting fakes. What makes the peace dollar a fake?

OP
OP
C

CTRollHunter

Mar 25, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It just looks like PMD to me. But I have no experience spotting fakes. What makes the peace dollar a fake?

The ring test (the sound it makes when you drop it) is a dead giveaway. Also the bubbling on the surface of the Morgan. And the color in person is wrong. More steel grey than silver. If I really wanted to check I would measure and weigh them both also.

ThePt78Gamer

Apr 28, 2014
Maine
Primary Interest:
Other
I disagree enamel. It probly isn't worth the gas to return these two fake silver dollars, and bringing KNOWINGLY fake money into the bank just sounds like it would be more trouble than what $2 he may or may not get back. Plus, this may lead to them no longer accepting these large dollars anymore due to fear of them being fake, which in turn would make it impossible to ever find a silver dollar at this bank again. (You never know when a real one could come in... it happens....)

goldencoin

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2005
Indiana