Good MD for coin hunting in the $1000 range?

Rawkfist

Greenie
Dec 28, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I currently own a Fisher F2 and am just getting into the sport. However, I am looking into coin hunting on a 1800's site and I am worried that the Fisher wont find these coins. The 1800's site in question was abandoned and has not been trampled on since 1942ish. I don't think the coins will be too deep but I am not an expert like some of you all.
So, I would like to know if my Fisher will find these coins/relics and if not then I would like to start researching a detector that will. I want to stay in the $1000 range.
I am also looking into a machine for Fresh Water and some day maybe Salt. Thanks.

Upvote 0

Charlie P. (NY)

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2006
South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the h
Detector(s) used
Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You F2 will do pretty well, actually. It's the coins beside iron or deep and iffy that may escape you.

Fisher F-75 for around $949.00 ($1099.00 gets you the top-end F-75 LTD2)
Fisher F75 Metal Detector | BigBoysHobbies

Fisher F75 SE Metal Detector | BigBoysHobbies

Teknetics T2SE for $899.00
Teknetics T2 SE Special Edition Metal Detector | BigBoysHobbies

I'm a coin shooter and have the F-75se upgraded to the LTD2 (nice that Fisher offerred a program to return and upgrade my seven year old detector - for a price). It is great in trashy sites and also woods and plowed fields. Not the best choice for saltwater (it is waterproor up to the control head) but will handle it with manual ground balancing. Very versitile all purpose detector.

If bu freshwater and saltwater you intend submerging the detector - whole nuther story. I have no knowledge there.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011