Have Any Experience with Headliner Fabrics?

KarenD

Feb 15, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I'm getting ready to cover a custom headliner tomorrow night and I don't know what the fabric is capable of doing.

It's a highly-sculpted custom with LED recesses molded into the liner. So, I can either make it two pieces, or try stretching over the recesses....

headliner.JPG

mamabear

Silver Member
Feb 21, 2008
SE Missouri
Detector(s) used
garage sale oldie
Primary Interest:
Other
I have no experience, but see if you tube has tutorials on it. There's tutes for everything!

OP
OP
K

KarenD

Feb 15, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have no experience, but see if you tube has tutorials on it. There's tutes for everything!

For sure! I've watching and googling for hours. I'm worried that I'll screw it up, so what I think I'll do is cut a practice piece and try it on a similar shape.

OP
OP
K

KarenD

Feb 15, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
First layer is finished. Will fit the recess covers tonight. Hope they fit b/c sewing foam-backed fabric on a standard machine is not easy.

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20130308_182937.png
    ForumRunner_20130308_182937.png
    146.9 KB · Views: 167

austin

Gold Member
Jul 9, 2012
San Antonio, Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett 250
Primary Interest:
Other
Oh no girl, you need to go with pink and purple tuck and roll with little "dingle balls" hanging on the sides. Would look sharp in deep south Texas.

OP
OP
K

KarenD

Feb 15, 2013
Oregon
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Oh no girl, you need to go with pink and purple tuck and roll with little "dingle balls" hanging on the sides. Would look sharp in deep south Texas.

You're not gonna believe this but I've installed purple LED strips under the seats and in the recesses you see in the headliner.
Also have a hot pink/black windshield visor strip and a pink "car kitty." Pink brake calipers are on my wishlist!