Multi-Detectors

Wildman

Feb 25, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am very new to this.
If a PI Detector and a VLF Detector are placed beside each other will the frequencies from them clash?
Or are their frequenies so different they will not effect each other?

From some of the research I have done a PI Detector is better for hunting metal and a VLF Detector is better for hunting meteorites.
I want to know if I can use both types of detectors at the same time and even make a handle to hold both at the same time.

Last edited:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello from White Plains, New York, Wildman, and Welcome!

OK, "VLF" (very low frequency) detectors use Radio Waves, transmitting at different frequencies between 4kHz, and 80kHz. “PI,” or Pulse Induction metal detectors do not use radio waves, instead they shoot electronic pulses into the ground several hundred times per second.

Yes, they can interfere with each other within 10’-15’ apart.

Both types of machine are used to find meteorites, with the Fisher Goldbug II, and the Minelab GPX 4000, and GPX 5000 being my preferred meteorite strewnfield weapon.

OP
OP
W

Wildman

Feb 25, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you for the info Terry. That was good and bad news. You gave me good insight on the detector types and I looked up those very impressive brands.
They are both great detectors.

However the part where they will interfere with each other up to 15 feet apart was bad news.

In the picture below I am trying to find out if any kinds of metal detectors can be used side by side as shown in, "Diagram 1", below.