New to Posting Here

Foreverteachable

Nov 24, 2023
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic ID, Troy Shadow X5, Garrett AT Pro, Red Racer 2, Fisher F22, Minelab Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good day Everyone

My name is Brandon. I am an Earth science teacher, author, etc. in Upstate NY but have family in NW CT and the Berkshires. My science teacher, Mr. Romeo used to tell us stories about prospecting in the area of Chibougamau when he worked for a mining company back in the 50's or 60's and I always dreamed of finding some gold as well.
Growing up I searched for arrowheads, fished, dug the bottle dumps, and after the Marine Corps I used my tax refund to purchase a detector. I have detected for about 25 years now and found a lot of great treasures. Since I moved to NY I began finding arrowheads and found myself enjoying the solitude of searching for them as much as finding silver and copper artifacts. Lately though, I have the gold bug. I have searched a bit in NY, Mass, and VT, without even a speck, but did have the opportunity to visit my buddy Nate in Anchorage last year and we hit a few spots about an hour and a half away and found some gold. I met a prospector there while Nate was at work, and he was kind enough to let me set up next to him. He showed me the ropes and we talked about life. If most prospectors are like him, then I'm in the right place. We were panning a public stream, but I asked if he minded if I bring Nate back to the spot and he was happy to oblige and thanked me for the consideration. Nate and I had a great time sluicing and even tried our hand at high banking when some other guys set up near us with their equipment. I think that I'm more into the solitude of sluicing, but it sure was cool to see all that gold in the pan after running several buckets in a few minutes. Alaska was all an unforgettable experience and I went home with a vial with some color in it.