Pioneer 505 v. Prism III v. Ace 250

anewton68

Dec 5, 2006
Ok, I know you guys are getting tired of the "I'm a beginner, which one should I buy?" posts, but I have hinted to Mom that I want a detector for Christmas and push is coming to shove. I have been researching online for hours and hearing feedback from my Mom. She went to a local hobby store and they had the Prism III in stock, but could order the Garrett Ace 250. She saw the Pioneer 505 at Wal-Mart in a package accessory deal and suggested it, being the good Wal-Mart shopper that she is. I am a beginner and will be hunting for coins/relics in fields and old house sites in Southwest Georgia (no beach or wet searching). My basic take on all the research that I have done is these three are all roughly similar quality beginner models. It seems like a lot of people don't like the Ace 250 sounds and there are minor complaints about all three. Has anybody tried 1, 2 or all 3 and have an opinion about which one is better quality or have an overall recommendation. Sorry for being another one of those guys.

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting