david583

Jul 9, 2012
Woodstock ,VT
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX , Whites M6
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Tune-up's

I'm fairly new to MDing but it been about three years since I've started and I am hooked. I have always bought used MDs and I now have two DFXs and a M6 and I'm currently looking for a Excalibur II . My question is- I've read about people sending their machines into whites for "tune-ups" , is this something that should be done periodically , are there different levels of service and finally what does it cost roughly .? Thanks in advance and HH!

Tom Slick

Jul 21, 2012
Mesa AZ
Detector(s) used
XP Deus & Deus II, Makro Multi Kruzer, White's DFX w/18" Arrow Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been using White's detectors for over 35 years and I've never had to send on in for a "Tune up". I've only had one that needed to be sent in for repair. Most of the time when you hear of someone sending a detector in for a "tune up" it's usually another brand that needs to be repaired but the owner doesn't want to fess up to the fact that there's something wrong with it. That would be like bad mouthing the manufacturer or brand. I'm sure some will argue the point but TMHO.

wingmaster

Bronze Member
Aug 10, 2009
Detector(s) used
White's MXT all pro, MXT300 D2, 950, 4X6 DD, detech ultimate 13" DD coils
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If your not having any problems with it then its fine, only time you need to send it in for a tune up is if you notice a problem. Even if you notice a problem alot of times its just a bad coil or something you might be able to fix yourself, there's no need to send the detector in if its just a bad coil. HH

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting