RE: Wellington Train Disaster

jbeekley

Tenderfoot
Nov 21, 2006
RE: Wellington Train Disaster

Hello, I am new to using forums, so Please excuse me if I have this in the wrong spot!! I would like to ask anyone whom uses this forum if they have ever gone to the area where the Wellington train disaster had taken place back in 1910 in the area of Stevens pass here in Western Washinton? When I was around ten years old or so (I am 40 now), my brother and I went there with my father and his friend to use his medal detector to search for anything that may have come from this accident.

I remember they did find a few "old" coins that most likely had to come from on or more of the victims as these were dated around 1898 I believe and I think I also remember one was a "gold coin". They also found some parts from one of the trains as my father had taken on part to have it looked at and was told that it was some part of a brake pulley that was from a very old train, so it must have come from one of the trains. I plan on going back next spring as this is a great place to take our own kids and explain to them what had happened and how many years ago this was.

I was just wondering if anyone that used this forum has ever been to this great place? And if so, did you also come up with any "Treasure" from the accident. "TIP:" If you do go and try to find anything that was to do with this accident (including coins that still may be there), try looking way down from where the accident occured as I remember when they found two coins, this was about 1/2-mile or so from where this happened!! Must be from all of the snow/rain that has washed all of this material down the hills as they had gone almost all the way down to Scenic and they found the brake pulley that far down. So, we think that there still must me some lost coins from this accident just waiting to be found!! As we also have new medal detection now, we should be able to come up with any coins that still may be in that area.