digging440yrs

Gold Member
Dec 5, 2012
UPSTATE NEW YORK
Detector(s) used
1970 COMPASS-
WHITES SILVER EAGLE-
WHITES DFX, 4X6DD COIL, 6X8DD COIL, 950 COIL, 10X12SEF COIL-
GARRETT PRO POINTER AT, GARRETT AT PRO , MINELAB EXPLORER SE with 8.5x12.5 Cors coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome aboard :icon_thumleft:

Jason in Enid

Gold Member
Oct 10, 2009
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The Mississippi river is flowing mud and the bottom is most likely a tangle of trees and garbage. Are you trained in commercial diving?

OP
OP
P

pattcatt

Feb 25, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Trained, no. A self taught hobby, yes. I know my limits when diving so I can get by in the river in good conditions.

I figured I would find some maps of wrecks and track currents to nearby areas where detecting looks promising. I assume if I actually find an intact ship it would be long since looted.

Truth

Gold Member
Apr 13, 2016
Abita Springs La....Born in New Orleans
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
EQUINOX 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm around the Mississippi River in News Orleans and it a terrible idea to even go in the river around here. The undertows and currents are way way to dangerous.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Trained, no. A self taught hobby, yes. I know my limits when diving so I can get by in the river in good conditions....

It sounds like you've scuba dived in these areas before. And have experience in this type diving.

Then ... forgive me for the silly question .... but once you're under the water, with an underwater detector, .... is there really anyone around (like watching you or whatever), IN THE FIRST PLACE ? I mean, who's underwater to care ?

alabama11

Nov 23, 2015
north Alabama
Detector(s) used