Help for newbie in Va?

captain Jack

Sep 26, 2006
Richmond, Va
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Hello to everyone. I am totally new to relic hunting, I was talking about it with a friend one night and got real excited about the idea of it. I got the bets metal detector I can afford right now (bounty hunter quicksilver) I'm sure it's not a great one, but something to get started with and works better than throwing darts. :) My first outing (about an hour after I got it) on a friend's land yielded a few nails, beer cans, and a rivet of some sort. Oh and one bullet casing, but it was one we fired so I don't think it counts. anyways, I have tried doing some research and haven't found anything I really feel I can use. I need a nudge in the right direction. Where to find maps or a good area to hunt etc. I absolutely respect the ethical side of hunting as far as getting permission and everything, So can anyonw help? I am in Richmond, Va. Which, if anyone doesn't know is also close to Powhatan, Chesterfield, Amelia, and Goochland, if that sparks any thoughts. Thanks for any help. I can't wait to start posting pics of finds!

P.S. feel free to email me at [email protected] if you like.

Z

ZipDogg