TD Bank says no more dumping large amounts of coins.. new policy coming soon..

koala33

Apr 29, 2011
Northeast
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been dumping at TD Bank for about 5 months. I personally never broke the machine, but I think others may have (or I may have contributed). Long story short, I showed up today on my lunch break, and they said the machine is down and someone had to come fix it.

They said I could no longer dump large amounts there anymore (I usually did 1K in halves at a time). The Penny Arcade is only for small dumps around $50. They said that if I want I can send my coins to be counted, BUT said that it could take weeks to get my money in my account. She said that usually it only takes a couple of days, but she has seen it take a while. She may have just been saying that because she doesn't want to deal with it... She said all TD Banks are going to be changing their policy.

So what do I do now??!! I have 1K in halves in my house sitting in my backpack. In the past when I lived in NM I dumped at a credit union that is not in the DC area. There are some credit unions here, but they do not have counters. My days may be over...

So which banks will allow you to take coins to be sent in to be counted, and how long does it take to see a credit back on your account?

I am going to call around, but thought I would try and get some opinions.. And spread the word about TD.

:(

Upvote 0

Steelers0626

Oct 15, 2011
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Same exact thing just happened to me, but at only one TD bank, look for more TD banks, hopefully they didn't all change their policy

OP
OP
koala33

koala33

Apr 29, 2011
Northeast
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I found a credit union 2 miles down the road farther, just signed up online.. I am going to check it out this weekend to dump the rest and hopefully build a nice relationship with them. I just hope it's not a slowwww machine..

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America