MisterCrabApples

May 23, 2007
Hello everyone,

I am brand new to CRH( 3 weeks) and figured I would drop a line to say "Hello".....

I am having some moderate success with it , I guess....

I have searched around 2000 dollar worth of halves, 500 dollar worth of quarters and 500 worth of dimes...

Results so far...2-90% halves, 24-40% halves, Zippity do da in quarters, and 1-64 dime..

I have a question about "proofs"... I havent found any I dont think and from everything I have read I will know when I do find one. Is it just a very nice looking coin or what? I read something about '87 I should be looking for too. Are there any other years I should be looking for?

Thanks in advance

Upvote 0

wildrider

Bronze Member
Feb 25, 2007
Kentucky
Detector(s) used
Nautilus DMC IIb/White's 6000 Di Pro
They must not be picked in your neigborhood.

I took $40 to a new dump bank and the teller said, "I know a guy that's going to be happy to get these. He collects halves and gets the silver and a few other years out of them." I just said, "really, I never thought of that." ;D

Now I know that my bank tellers cherry pick and another guy and I are exchanging dumped halves.

I guess I gotta head out of town a ways.

Burt

Emperor Findus Cladius

Bronze Member
Sep 2, 2004
TX
Detector(s) used
Whites Vision/V3 Spectra, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You want to keep the 87 & 87D as they were low mintages. The proofs are relatively easy to spot as they usually have a deep mirror finish and are very sharply struck. ALL of the clad proofs will have an S mintmark and conversely if you find a clad and it has an S mintmark, even if it is fairly marked up, it was struck as a proof coin but has been circulation for some time.

LJ

Silver Member
Dec 23, 2006
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting