CRH Equipment - What do you use?

seattleMD

Dec 31, 2007
Aside from your hands and a light source, what equipment do you use to sort through your coin rolls and find goodies?

I'm a newb and am curious to know what you vets use as tools of the trade. I just started using a small flat-headed screw driver to pry open my fed crimped rolls. It's especially necessary on that dime rolls since my fat fingers and trimmed back nails can't seem to unroll them alone. I'm also considering some cloth gloves to avoid the nasty smell coins get on your fingers and some kind of coin tray to allow for easier silver identification based on rim coloration. Right now I make several small vertical stacks and then pick them up and hold them sideways between my fingers and browse. Would be much easier if I could dump into a coin tray like tellers have and view that way.

Upvote 0

Whyme

Silver Member
Aug 22, 2007
Western New York
Detector(s) used
CTX-3030, Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I use a lighted magnifying glass to edge search, search dates, and look for errors. Since none of my dump banks take coins in bags or have a counting machine I have to roll them. I just bought a used coin counter to make rolling easier. I use plastic boxes to dump coins in. I also have sheets of paper with all the dates of error coins and what the errors are. One sheet for pennies, one for halves, etc... with BIG lettering on them so I can see them hanging on the wall ;D For the keeper coins I have plastic coin tubes for the halves I'm going to sell and Saflip for the ones that go into my collection.

Codes

Bronze Member
Feb 28, 2007
United States
Detector(s) used
White's M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting