Deus vs Minelab CTX/Deep Silver Coins

DigDeepNow

Jul 14, 2016
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I’m a relative newbie to metal detecting. I’ve spent the last year using an AT-Pro and a Deus (11” coil). I’ve had some luck but limited success digging up silver coins from locations that have been hit hard by detectors. I’ve recently read accounts of detectorists using the Minelab CTX with big coils and digging deep silver coins. They report this being relatively easy with the coins “sounding good” and the CTX providing reliable VDI’s.

I’ve dug some deep silver with the Deus but the VDI hasn’t been helpful and the sound is faint and hard for me to recognize. I’ve dug them from relatively clean sites where I expected deeper silver. I’ve had no luck digging deeper coins in trashy areas/public parks.

I’m thinking of buying a CTX. Any thoughts from more experienced users???

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
In my area old coins are from 5 to 10 inches deep. For the trashy areas I use a sniper coil. When I started detecting back in 2014 I wanted to go deeper and thought that bigger was better so I asked for a 12" x 15" nel coil for my birthday. I have yet to dig a coin deeper than 10 to 10.5 inches. I have evolved to going out with smaller coils which has given me more coins than the bigger one ever did due to better target separation. There are treasures within the trashy areas. People have been detecting in my area since the 70's so virgin ground is very scarce, yet I do pull keepers among-st the trashier areas at older sites.