Helmet-back.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 102
  • Helmet front2.jpg
    Helmet front2.jpg
    75.3 KB · Views: 92

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
I believe that is a WWII era helmet liner.

I am not an expert by any means, but the composite material, the leather head band, the cotton webbing, the strap and the steel clips holding the head band to the outer liner look to me to be WWII.

While there were many makers of these liners, look for a black imprint on the inside. The markings can be a bear to find and see.

I think the last one that I had was a Westinghouse. The leather head band and the cotton webbing was in horrid shape, as was the steel clips, which were really rusty, and I still got $50 for it.

Last edited:

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
Can you give close up pics of the hardware that attaches the strap to the liner?

Last edited:

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
One last post here:

There is a forum member named NOLAKen, or something like that. PM him and ask him to look at this thread. That guy is very knowledgeable about helmets, headgear, and anything to do with military history.

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
The strap looks to be correct for WWII era.

Does the liner have a marking on it, inside, under the webbing, in the crown era?

Last edited:

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
And there is no stamp impressed into the liner in the crown?

The Westinghouse liner I had did not have a crown stamp either, but a black rubber stamp on the right or left side that read '--stinghouse'. The imprint itself wasn't even fully legible!

Nonetheless, and again, I am NOT an expert, but I think your liner is appears to be a dead-on WWII liner.

clovis97

Silver Member
Dec 9, 2010
As a side note, I remember both WWI and WWII helmets were everywhere. It seemed that they were at every garage sale, and at every estate auction.