AT Pro 5 coil question

DiggerKep

Mar 24, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I picked up the 5x8 coil and tried it out yesterday at a location that I have found lots of old coins at various depths using the stock coil and I had some frustrating results. With the stock coil I seemed to be able to pick up good signals and distinguish between nails and good targets. Last night however, all I seem to be able to hit was nails. Even with a good signal at 76-81 for example I only found nails in the hole. I ground balanced a number of times as the soil type changes there thinking I wasn't balanced right but that didn't seem to help. I was in pro custom mode with iron set at 40 and nothing eliminated above that. Full on the sensitivity too. Is there something I was doing wrong or a setting that I should be paying attention to that would help me? I have been using the at pro for a couple of months now and am still learning the ins and outs of it all as I know it takes time to have the detector feel like an extension of your arm but it was rather frustrating to hit this spot many times before and every time go away with silver, Indian heads or at least a few wheaties but left last night with a pouch full of iron. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments as I am always open to learning more to help every hunt be successful.

OP
OP
DiggerKep

DiggerKep

Mar 24, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sorry the subject should have read 5x8 not 5

Sheppie22

Jun 9, 2011
Milford, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac,
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett AT Max
Minelab Equinox 800 and 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Did you do a reset when you changed coils.

OP
OP
DiggerKep

DiggerKep

Mar 24, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
No I didn't. Guess that may have been the missing step. How do I go about doing that?
Thank you by the way for your quick response.

Sheppie22

Jun 9, 2011
Milford, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac,
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett AT Max