Digging - need major help

Ladybuggy

Sep 10, 2010
So, I'm new to the hobby and need major help with my digging. The main locations are in the woods and house lawns. I currently use a medium sized metal shovel, a smaller tool (garden size) that has sharp edges. I generally use the med. shovel and make a circle, pop the plug out and place it on a towel. The towel's purpose is to help keep the lawn clean and also helpful in finding the target. So my holes look ridiculous when I'm done, is this just because the dirt is so dry or is it me? :o

So what kind of tools should I be using & how should I dig? Suggestions? I really don' want to break or scratch anything exciting.

deepskyal

Bronze Member
Aug 17, 2007
Natrona Heights, Pa.
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster 6000 Di Series 3, Minelab Eq 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Well...I'd probably ditch the shovel if you're doing a lawn. That's a mighty big hole for a coin or piece of jewelry. I'd also avoid lawns if the ground is overly dry. Yes, your holes probably look silly if the ground is very dry because it just won't compact back down good without moisture. If someone comes by with a mower it will just pull your plug out, chew it up and toss it everywhere. There's also a likely change you will damage the lawn if it's dry and you disturb too many roots to the air. It'll just brown out and die in a few days.

Your garden trowel sounds like the better choice for lawn areas. If you practice, you can cut a horseshoe shaped hole which leaves some grass and ground still in tact, then flip it over to expose your hole. But again, if the ground is overly dry, find a deep shade area to detect. Somewhere where the ground isn't baked all day by the sun. There is a world of different tools designed for digging holes. I personally use an old army knife I purchased back in the early 80's. Still got a great edge.