Feb 10, 2013
thetford,norfolk,uk
Detector(s) used
redheat mk2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
hi there,
this is my first time on this site and i would like to say hi to everybody,

ive been detecting in the UK for around 35yrs and im thinking about buying a new detector, ive use tesoro in the past and found them brilliant on contaminated sites,i now use a machine called a redheat which was made for me as the owner was a good friend of mine,sadly he passed away a few years ago and getting my detector fixed now is getting difficult!!! ive been using my redheat for around 10yrs plus but its getting near to its retirement hence ive been reading about the tesoro range again, the supertraq sounds fab as does the tejon as well as a few of the others, ive never detected in the USA so i dont really know what your soil conditions are like,my sites here are very contaminated but my machine copes brilliantly,hammered coins,cut halves and farthings on a regular basis!! and thats working with the iron contamination, will any of these new tesoro work well in these conditions?

i look forward to any help you guys can offer

thanks michael in the uk

thrillathahunt

Silver Member
Jul 24, 2006
TEXAS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello Michael and welcome to TreasureNet!

The Tesoro Tejon does very well here my area in iron infested sites. With it's dual discrimination it is possible to effectively reject iron even if it is right on top of a non-ferrous target. I think you would be happy with the performance of the Tejon.

http://www.njminerals.org/metaldetecting-tejon.html

Last edited:

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting