Asking for advice

BismarckDon

Jul 5, 2016
Bismarck, North Dakota
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everybody. I'm a brand new member and brand new to the hobby. My wife and I want to enjoy metal detecting together. We live in Bismarck, North Dakota. We just purchased our first detector and are waiting for it to arrive. It is a Bounty Hunter Time Ranger that was on deep discount online. Since our detector hasn't arrived yet, I have no experience with it yet. We are looking at buying a second detector, and I want the second machine to be at least as good or better than the first. We will be searching locally. No beaches or salt water. Our ground is primarily black dirt. We will be searching for coins, jewelry, etc in parks, river banks, etc. can anyone give me some advice or opinions regarding our second machine? Thanks!

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I started with a detector that did not have a VDI. I mainly dig by sound, but seeing numbers on a screen can aid in the decision to dig or not. I am also a big fan of the DD coil. Being that your both beginners I would look at some videos of these models

Fisher F2, F22 & F44
Teknetics Delta & Euro Tech Pro
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro
Whites Treasuremaster

Most of these have present ground balance since you are planning on primarily hunting in Loam I do believe the presets should work fine. The Land Ranger Pro is the best bang for the buck and has ground balance capabilities, but all listed are $300 or less except the LRP it's a few bucks more.

If you can afford about $500 I'd look at the classic T2 or Garret AT Pro.

I used the Kellyco site to review detector spec side by side. I have also bought some accessories from them and never had a problem.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions: