boogeyman

Gold Member
Jun 6, 2006
Out in the hills near wherendaheckarwe
Detector(s) used
WHITES, MINELAB, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Harbor Freights got some. I bought the visor one with the light. Like it! has different lenses that plug in and you can combine for more magnification. Also bought a couple of the 10x that folds up in it's own case. Was like $2 with the 20% coupon. The one I've been carrying in my pocket for two or three years ( a minor miracle in my pockets) is still in good shape. Now that I think about it, I really can't see any difference in clarity etc. than the $20 something one I got as a gift.

ChampFerguson/TN

Bronze Member
Nov 22, 2013
TN
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari .......... Minelab Excalibur II ....... ........Minelab CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
10x with the largest diameter you care to fool with(talking loupes, not handhelds on a stick), brand doesn't matter for initial looksee. Larger diameter is especially good on old eyes. Anything beyond 20x is pretty worthless imo and I've used the same 10x in the field for 40+ years.

I recently got one of the Celestron Digital Microscope Pros for home use and LOVE it. Well under $100; check it out if you think you may have a regular use (and its fantastic for magnified pics and video).

Tip: the best way to use a loupe is to put it close to your eye and move the object to it, not loupe away from the eye. Use your glasses or not at your personal preference.

Last edited:

dsdigger

Bronze Member
Jan 5, 2017
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600, Whites MX Sport, Whites Coinmaster, Minelab Explorer XS, Kellyco Vulcan 360, Lesche Digger, Rattler headphone, Park Ranger Bag by "Freeloader"
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting