Tesoro detectors... coil selections? Which one!

BuddhaPie

Apr 14, 2018
Nebraska
Detector(s) used
Pirate- Black Pearl, Mr. Bills IDX, Modded Tesoro Conquistador Umax, Modded Tesoro Cibola w/ HOT cleansweep, Tesoro Lobo Supertraq
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm fairly new to metal detecting, and this is the first forum I've joined , as well as the first post I've written so bare with my ridiculous questions/ramblings I am about to bring forth. :BangHead:

I have a new to me Tesoro Conquistador Umax with manual ground balance as well as a new to me Tesoro Cibola, both with the stock 9x8 concentric coils in their respective epsilon and delta configurations. Firstly the Conquistador is modded with a 3-3/4 turn manual ground balance that I have done myself. The mod works great, and has essentially turned this detector into an Eldorado. The circuit board even reads eldo1.1 which leads me to believe this has the ed-180 disc circuitry that seems very desirable in a Tesoro as well as the hi-tone that is also seemingly desireable amongst many Tesoro owners. The Cibola is soon to be modded with a 10 turn manual ground balance, and a trigger replacing the pinpoint button for all metal/ disc selection, but not before it is sent into Tesoro for a new hi-tone mod.

My thinking is that the Conquistador Umax with its ed-180 disc and manual ground balance would be a great detector for iron laden house sites, parks, etc. And that the Cibola with its H.O.T circuitry (and not quite ed-180 disc) would be better suited for open areas where iron isn't so much of a bother, but a little more depth, and ground coverage are desired.

So my first question as it pertains to the Conquistador Umax is:
Would a widescan coil such as a Cors Fortune 9.5"x5.5" DD be a good choice for the Conquistador in Iron laden areas? Cors markets the coil for excellent target speration in land heavily littered with iron and other debris.