Safari coil question

Bama Billy

Apr 2, 2018
Central Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, Iā€™m a total newbie but have had some great luck so far. I constantly hear that you have to ā€œlearn the soundsā€ of the safari so I spend as much time with my machine that I can. Here in Alabama I seem to dig a LOT of trash, which I guess isnā€™t exclusive to Alabama. Anyway, Iā€™ve been reading up on coils and see a lot of folks using the 8x6 butterfly coil and it helps to seperate trash. Should I just stick with the stock coil or would the 8x6 be a good modification for my safari?

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
šŸ„‡ Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you only have one main machine and like to hunt in different areas, some trashier than others, then I suggest you have multiple coils. Large coils are great for target sparse areas whereas smaller coils give better separation and are a must for target rich or trashy sites.

OP
OP
Bama Billy

Bama Billy

Apr 2, 2018
Central Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you only have one main machine and like to hunt in different areas, some trashier than others, then I suggest you have multiple coils. Large coils are great for target sparse areas whereas smaller coils give better separation and are a must for target rich or trashy sites.

Thanks for the reply. The safari is my only machine currently and Iā€™ve only been swinging it for 4 months or so. Almost all the areas I search have lots of trash. Iā€™m surrounded by creeks and rivers that overflow so pull tabs and cans are everywhere.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
šŸ„‡ Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting