What do you look for?

bottlecap

Feb 22, 2014
West Metro, Mn
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello crazy gold seekers! I am new to finding gold and live in Minnesota so right off the bat I know I'm not really in a great spot geographically, however I have heard there is some really fine gold in this state, and I'm going to find some. What are you looking for structurally when looking for gold? A certain type of soil? Rocky creek beds? Large boulders? One thing we do have in this state is a lot of rivers and streams, maybe that's a start? I want to stress here I am NOT looking for hot spots, just trying to get some general knowledge. Thank you for any replies!

Upvote 0

H&F909ORO

Dec 26, 2013
California East Bay
Primary Interest:
Other
One thing I learned in the little time I have been mining is to look for gravel bars on streams or rivers. You also need to know if you are in a gold bearing area. Do you have your basic tools? Most important thing is to do research, I would suggest looking at some YouTube videos on how to catch the fine gold. Now remember that gold is where you find it and all that glitters is not gold. Look for certain types of rock as well. You might want to learn how to read a river which is also found on YouTube. I definitely did not get everything, but those are some basics I wanted to point out.
Good Luck!

OP
OP
bottlecap

bottlecap

Feb 22, 2014
West Metro, Mn
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting