East Fork - Newbie Here

GENESIS2012

Greenie
Jul 19, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi guys. I went SGV east fork twice sluicing. On both occasions I found 0 gold. I tried hiking 3 miles in, still no gold. Tried it closer to the parking area, still no Gold! I will be returning for my third time sluicing. Not sure if it's my sluice box or my inexperience but I can't seem to find any Gold at east fork. I did meet several nice folks along the river, who gave me some tips.

I will be heading back out, possibly this upcoming weekend. If you would like to meet up and possibly give me some pointers I'd would appreciate it!

Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
try finding it using a pan before you jump into sluicing. if you think it may be your sluice your not ready for sluicing.

goldenmojo

Bronze Member
Dec 9, 2013
N. California
Detector(s) used
Bazooka Prospector-Sniper-Supermini Thanks Todd & Chris, Goldhog Multisluice Thanks Doc, My Land Matters Thanks Claydiggins, 6 Senses
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
G2012. A sluice is a production machine that increases your speed of collection. It is not a gold finder. That is what a pan is for. Sample with your pan until you determine which area has the highest concentration of color and then if the conditions of water flow and proximity to the sluice are good enough set up your sluice. I have places with good color but I am not interested in hauling five gallon buckets a hundred yards to process it through a sluice. Learn to pan so that you can determine within a few minutes hour best spot. Leave your sluice at home and spend a full day panning and sampling up and down the river until you learn how to find the gold. It is difficult in the beginning but after a short while you will be a pro at it.

goldog

Sep 25, 2012
Tujunga, CA
Detector(s) used