My Land Matters and claimed areas for AZ trip

Mgumby16

Jun 26, 2014
East Coast
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello everyone -

I am working on planning a trip to AZ this winter, and I am attempting to figure out My Land Matters claim map of AZ. I am from the East Coast so i have no experience dealing with claims.

My main question is on My Land Matters you have the quads that show areas that have active mineral claims, now one quad may show in the center something like 9 placer. Im taking that that means that there are 9 active placer claims in that quad. How do you figure out exactly what areas of that quad are covered by those 9 placer claims?

Then there area quads that appear to have no active claims. How do i make sure that these quads are open to prospecting and not private land or closed to prospecting in some manner?

I realize that the easiest thing to do would probably be to join the GPAA or some other club, however i do like to venture off the beaten path, and may at some point in the future move out west so i think it would be good to get better handle on the claim system.

Thanks for the help!!

Upvote 0

Goldwasher

Gold Member
May 26, 2009
Sailor Flat, Ca.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Bug 2 Burlap, fish oil, .35 gallons of water per minute.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
zoom in...click on plss and land manager.

Click th info tool "i" in the side bar... click on the section. Take notes on the serial numbers.

Now you have to pull the file at the county and look at the map /land description for the claims in that area.

Now you can make a map of the claims in the area and should be able to see what is left open.

be prepared to come across over laps and over filing...AVOID AVOID AVOID

you will have to pull up the master title plat too see if unclaimed open public lands are open to claiming.