Best Detector for Newbie trying to locate buried coffee cans containing cash?

B

Bentarrow

Hi,

? ? ? I am thinking about purchasing a "high-end" metal detector for trying to locate coffee cans buried in the 60's that have either cash or silver dollars (or both ?) in them. I am new to this hobby & to get my feet wet I bought a Relco Frontiersman for next to nothing at a pawn shop & found a dime & 6 pennies in my front & back yards. So I'm thinking if a dinosaur like the Relco will at least find a few targets then todays high-end units must be awesome. Or are very rusty coffee cans at 18" - 36" nearly impossible for any detector retailing for less than $2000 to detect?
? ? ? Eventually I would do mostly coinshooting after my search for "coffee-can treasure" is completed. My "treasure hunt for the buried coffee cans will be on 5 city lots in dry clay soil next to an old wooden house & also next to a quonset hut. The property was owned by a mechanic & there are tractors, old cars, junk iron, etc on three of the lots. The mechanic liked to drink a lot - so I suspect bottle caps & can tabs are abundant. I am trying to locate any assets on this property that my girlfriend's deceased Grandmother is alleged to have buried on numerous occasions. I will have to travel to the property & take a few days of vacation to do this treasure hunt, so minimizing false targets is a must.
? ? ? I am "semi-computer-literate" & own a Nikon D70 digital camera, so todays technology doesn't completely intimidate me. So should I consider a Garrett GTI 2500 Pro, Minelab Explorer 2, or other ? Can a $400 - $600 modern detector do what I need?
? ? ? Anyones's suggestions would be most welcome.

Upvote 0

Nicksan

Nov 17, 2005
So. Cal.
Detector(s) used
Equinox 600, Stock and 6" coils
Whites M6 & MXT, Super 12 & 6x8 Detech coils
Miccus Bluetooth headphones & Ratphones
Lesche
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Where are these cans supposedly buried?.............. :D

jeff of pa

Super Moderator