Advice needed

hillpirate

Tenderfoot
Oct 3, 2010
My great grandfather died before he could tell his wife where the family gold was buried. My grandfather had seen the gold as a young boy when it was kept in the barn but when my g-grandfather found out my grandfather had found it, he promptly buried it. On his deathbed, he asked his brother to go get his wife so he could tell her the location, but before she got to his bedside he had expired. My father and I spent several days back in the '70s with an older White's detector but never found it. The old homestead passsed out of the family soon after but now I have access to it. Question: What type of detector would be best suited to detect appox. 30-40
double eagles($20 gold) in a stone jar 1-2 feet deep? I am a newbie and need all the advice I can get.

hillpirate

Upvote 0
K

Kentucky Kache

The standard answer is, get the largest coil you can afford, or use a two box machine. Depth is most important here. Discrimination isn't too important, as you'll probably want to dig every signal. Pay attention to the faint signals, as well as the loud ones.

Are you familiar with fence post caches? Spend some time on the cache hunting board. You'll find a lot of good information there on where, why and how caches were hidden.

If you were g grandpa, where would you have buried that gold?

Old Town

Aug 18, 2010
Key West
Detector(s) used
Fisher, Whites, Tesoro
This is a great story. For the value of what might be there you should consider taking a bulldozer to the top 18 inches. Peel it off and then put it back. One day hire of a D8 and operator isn't all that much considering double eagles in that amount. Just a thought.

OT

OP
OP
H

hillpirate

Tenderfoot
Oct 3, 2010
We always suspected it was buried near the outhouse where he could inspect it every day without raising suspicions. Our second choice was the fruit cellar at the side of the house under a porch.